RSS Feed

Ravi Soups

Posted on

My immune system fails me several times every winter. It seems that if anyone in a kilometer radius around me gets a sniffle, I have a full on four-tissue-box cold. These weeks, I don’t want peppy girls in tight black dresses asking if I want a drink with that- I want to be left alone, and soup.

Which lead us to Ravi Soups on Adelaide.
A brought me here to quelch my mid-flu complaints.

We came in on a chilly Sunday night (yes, open SUNDAY), maybe 40 minutes before they closed. The store was empty, but for the two of us, it was perfect. The chalkboard menu overhead sported a small selection of soup and wraps (there was a combo option too)- but through the sniffling, I was tunnel visioned on “Porcini Mushroom with Wild Rice Bisque”.

photo (9)

There was nothing remarkable about the guy who served us: efficient, smiled, and no extra words- which was great, as I was too hazy minded to react anyway. We found a seat at a the communal table in the back, and they brought the soup to us on a lazy susan. I could image this place being a trendy joint to meet your friends for lunch, or even a quiet place for a mellow date.
I was happily surprised to find a cheese pastry on the side of my massive portion of soup – it wasn’t advertised, but still, I’m a sucker for signature touches.

The cheese scone/biscuit/pastry thingy was huge, fluffy and buttery and delicious. Even with my lack of appetite, I managed to snarf down half of it.
The whole point of the outing: the soup, was phenomenal! Topped with a drizzle of truffle oil and fried shallots, this bisque was hot and smooth, with lots and lots of mushrooms. It had a nice woodsy aroma, typical of a mushroom soup, however, there was also a nice weight to it. The rice wasn’t mushy, but rather added a nice texture to the soup. The heaviness on my tongue made me feel warm inside, and as I slurped it up, my cold melted into the background.

I would consider the soup a touch expensive, at $8.99 +tax, but considering the huge portion (I would guess it to be close to 3 cups) and the cheesy biscuit, and the fact that nothing beats hot soup on a Onterrible day (especially, when you don’t have to make it yourself), it’s so worth it.

Ravi’s porcini mushroom with wild rice bisque is the new chicken noodle soup.

RaviSoups on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

